Where Is The Players Golf Tournament?

One of the most elite and successful golfing tournaments in the world is The Players Championship. It has a long and storied history, and some of the most famed golfers have won it, including Tiger Woods and Jack Nicklaus. Where is The Players golf tournament held? Learn about this prestigious event here.

The Players Championship, also known as The Players, is a professional golf tournament that takes place each May at TPC Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. It is one of the most prestigious events on the PGA Tour with one of the largest purses, with a $20 million prize fund in 2022. This event has been held annually since 1974.

A view of the sunset from a Ponte Vedra golf course

Where Is the Players Golf Tournament Held?

The PGA Tour Players Championship is held at TPC Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra, Florida. It is one of the most prestigious golfing tournaments in the world, held at one of the most popular clubs in the US. This PGA Tour event is held annually in May, attracting some of the best globally-recognized golfers.

If you want to pay for a golf club membership, consider investing in one here. If you’re in Florida, you can also contact the Bay Hill club in Orlando, near Disney World. TPC Sawgrass is a private club, but it’s open to the public for events.

The Tournament Players Club at Sawgrass Is a True Floridian Resort

The course at this resort was designed by Pete Dye and opened for play in 1980. It is a par-72 and measures 7,215 yards from the back tees. It features narrow fairways, tall trees, and water hazards on many holes.

The clubhouse is a large, modern facility that overlooks the 18th hole. It features a pro shop, restaurant, locker rooms, and meeting facilities. The lodge is open to the public and offers a variety of golf clinics and lessons. It’s a resort type of venue.

 A view of the sunset at Ponte Vedra Beach

The History and Format of This Championship

The Players is one of the oldest and longest-standing golfing events. Except for 2020, amid the COVID-19 outbreak, it’s been held yearly.

The event is known for its challenging course, which features the famous “island green” 17th hole. The playoff format has started here. In 2014, it was changed to a three-hole aggregate, similar to the PGA Championship, where the last three holes are played consecutively.

The playoff begins at the 17th hole and moves to sudden death if the score is still tied. The sudden death format was played until 2013, determining the winner of a match when two golfers are tied after the 18th hole. The winner is the first golfer to win a hole during the extra holes play. The game is considered a draw if both are still tied afterward.

Only four playoffs have happened since the move to the Stadium Course in 1982. The one time it happened before the transfer ended with the champion making a par on the first hole in 1981.

The Inaugural Event Was Played at the Atlanta Country Club Course

Deane Beman, the commissioner of the PGA Tour, came up with the idea and format for the championship and established it in 1974. The first event was held at Atlanta Country Club in Marietta, Georgia, and ended on Labor Day weekend in early September.

The Atlanta Country Club is a prestigious private lodge that has been a fixture of the Atlanta community for over 100 years.

A blue heron in a lake near the Ponte Vedra golf course

TPC Sawgrass Stadium Course Is the Latest and Longest Host

The Stadium Course has been home to the PGA Tour since 1982. It’s situated on nearly 300 acres of land and features 18 holes. The front nine holes are referred to as the “Sawgrass,” and the back nine are known as the “Oaks.” The fairway is a par-72 and features various terrains, including wetlands, forests, and dunes.

The Colonial Country Club Hosted This Championship Once

In 1975, the home of this golfing event was the Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, one of the oldest golf courses in the US. It was founded in 1924 by golfers from the Fort Worth Golf Association and is one of the most prestigious golfing clubs in the country.

The winner that year was Al Geiberger, with a score of 270 and -10 to par. He won $50,000 from a purse of $250,000. His runner-up was Dave Stockton.

Here’s a short overview of The Players over the years:

  • 1974 – Atlanta Country Club, Marietta, Georgia,
  • 1975 – Colonial Country Club, Fort Worth, Texas,
  • 1976 – Inverrary Country Club, Lauderhill, Florida,
  • 1977 – 1981 – Sawgrass Country Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida,
  • 1982 – present – TPC Sawgrass, Stadium Course, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida.

The Most Notable Winners In The Players

This event is often dubbed “the fifth major” despite the PGA Tour having only four official ones. This title comes from the fact that it has similarities to the majors, like a high-class field and a large purse.

Some of the most prominent golfers in the world participated in this PGA Tour event, but only six had more than one win. The best score ever achieved at the championship was by Greg Norman in 1994, at 264.

The most recent 2022 winner of the event was Australian Cameron Smith, who scored 275 and -13 to par. His runner-up was the Indian golfer Anirban Lahiri, and he won a whopping $3,600,000 cash prize.

Here’s an overview of golfers who won the most times.

Jack Nicklaus1974, 1976, 1978272, 269, 289
Fred Couples1984, 1996277, 270
Steve Elkington1991, 1997276, 272
Hal Sutton1983, 2000283, 278
Davis Love III1992, 2003273, 271
Tiger Woods2001, 2013274, 275

Entering This Championship Can Boost a Golfer’s Morale

If you’re looking for a challenge or to prepare for golfing events, this Floridian fairway is an excellent starting point. It’s sure to test your golfing skills, whether you’re a beginner or an experienced golfer. So, organize your clubs, head to Florida, and work on improving your GHIN handicap number. Who knows, you might end up at The Players Championship.